The Right Response

Had a friend email me and ask me why I hadn’t commented on the Penn State/Sandusky news. So here goes.

I think it’s bigger than has been reported. I think this “charity” and it’s donors may be involved in something far more monstrous than one man taking advantage of his power and position. Somehow people that do these these things find one another and when they have power, it may not be worth your life to cross them.

There hasn’t been any believable explanation for why Mike McQueary didn’t respond by stopping the abuse he was witnessing and then calling the police. The best explanation is that he was afraid, not for his job, but for his life, and possibly for the lives of his family. To just walk away and then call your dad for advice is otherwise incomprehensible.

This post, titled Remedial Masculinity by Dr. Leon Podles lays out the only honorable course of action. Here’s a quote:

If you need a reminder of what to do if you walk into a shower area and find a grown man thrusting behind a boy bracing with his arms against a wall, you could do worse than the following.

You: Move away from the boy. I’m talking to you old man. Stand back. Do it now.

Man: Aw, come on, we’re just horsing around.

You: Shut up and move away from the boy. Kid? Kid, look at me. Turn around and look at me. Go get dressed. You’re going to the hospital.
(More at the link)

Because it isn’t just that moment in the shower, is it? And it isn’t just Mike McQueary. Joe Paterno knew. So did others, including the athletic director and the VP for finance at the university. Every day, every damned day every one of them didn’t report this, they choose their life and their career and their own comfort over the ongoing abuse of children. Every morning when they woke up and decided to go to work, they knew that their silence was enabling evil. That sometime, today, tomorrow, the next day, next week, a 10 year old boy was going to be anally raped and any one of them could have stopped it, but instead they choose to be silent. I’m sure it seemed like the expedient thing to do.

Caiaphas, who was high priest that year, said to them, “You know nothing at all, nor do you take into account that it is expedient for you that one man die for the people, and that the whole nation not perish.”
–John 11:49-50

3 thoughts on “The Right Response

  1. Thank you for posting this! It is amazing to me how many just have NO response…even worse an inappropriate and lame bs freaking excuse for failing to come to a victim's aid–especially a child victim–Worse is those who excuse or minimize a pedophile's crimes…THERE is NO excuse–period. So Thank you thank you thank you…for sharing some obvious truth and telling it like it is…

  2. Yeah, I thought about this a lot over the last several days, and I keep coming back to the conclusion that there's only a couple of appropriate responses to finding a rapist in the act, and they all involve firearms on brain stems – granted you may need to use a shovel or fire extinguisher if you're in a gun-free/victim-terrorization zone. If it was your son, your daughter, or wife, or mother; if it was you, what would you want the person who finds it to do?

  3. This whole thing has been eating at me since I first heard the story, and makes my blood boil every time I hear it. What kind of man…hell, what kind of human being…walks away from the active rape of a child?

    I can't say 100% exactly what I would do had I walked in on that, but I can guarantee it would involve an act of violence against that monster.

    This is one of the most evil, wretched examples of human trash imaginable. I know that we are not supposed to wish harm on another, but I can only pray that God will forgive me for hoping that they all die, and soon. There is no fire in hell hot enough for them.

Comments are closed.