Y’all Are Going on Youtube

Chainsaws and trees are a dangerous combination. Trees don’t always do what you expect. Chains get pinched, saws kick back. People get cut, hit with tree limbs, flung off ladders.

I was headed out to help some friends with Irene cleanup yesterday evening and she told me to be careful. My reply was that I would, and that I thought that running a chainsaw was significantly more dangerous than going to the range. When I got home, I started looking for videos and accident reports. You can find them easily enough, but you better be prepared for the accompanying photos. Let’s just say that anything that cuts through an oak log isn’t going to be slowed down by your face.

Rather than subject you to that, here, for your amusement, I offer a video where no one gets hurt, but one of the rules of chainsawing gets broken. “Be absolutely sure of where the tree is going to fall and what it is going to fall on.” You might not be able to move a house or a shed, but dropping a tree on a truck you could have parked a hundred yards away will get you immortalized on YouTube.

10 thoughts on “Y’all Are Going on Youtube

  1. More dangerous that a trip to the range? Way, way more dangerous. A FOAF is an ER nurse. She said after the last hurricanes here, the spike in really nasty injuries from chain saws, axes and etc. was incredbile. Folks who had never handled one were running out the Big Orange tool box and getting chain saws. And then removing chunks of themselves.

    “hey, how hard can it be?”

  2. Someone with better video editing skills than I should take the section where it lands on his truck, loop it, and set it to “I just f**king crushed my truck” a la the “I just f**king shot myself” guy from a few weeks/months back…

  3. Every hurricane that I have been involved with (Katrina and Wilma '05, Charley, Frances, Ivan, Jeanne '04, Erin '95, Hugo '89), there were more injuries during the cleanup that there were from the storm itself.

    The majority of Americans today are just not prepared to deal with anything that occurs outside of their cubicle.

  4. Granted, it looks a little fixed, but, having worked for some time in tree removal, a guy would have to be darn good to make that tree roll exactly like that with only that remaining strip of bark and the limb structure to control the fall (the ropes as positioned were of no corrective value, unless this was fixed, in which case their placement, length, and wrap are astounding).

    Anybody who could plan that can have a pretty high-paying gig removing trees from cramped city properties, and a job on any crew I ever field.

Comments are closed.