A Father’s Day Story

You’ve been around him your whole life, think you’ve heard all the stories. Then he surprises you.

I went home to visit last weekend, had a good time, did all the things on the home project list. Yesterday I called to say, “Happy Father’s Day.” We both happened to be watching baseball, and he told me a story I had never heard.

I knew he was an altar boy all the way through high school, but hadn’t heard the rest of this. Someone the parish priest knew in Boston would send enough tickets every year for the priest and all the altar boys to go to a baseball game in Boston. They would take the train in from New Hampshire and go to a game at Fenway. It was just after WWII, the players were all back from the war, and baseball was the national pastime.

One of those years, after the game, they all got to go to dinner with the team. My dad said that somewhere in his stuff is a picture of him and one of the other altar boys with Ted Williams.

We talked some more about baseball, about the times he went to Boston with his dad when he was very young, or later going with just a group of friends, but it left me wondering what other stories he has tucked away, and just how much anyone knows about their dad’s life story.

My father used to play with my brother and me in the yard. Mother would come out and say, “You’re tearing up the grass”. “We’re not raising grass,” Dad would reply, “We’re raising boys”.
–Harmon Killebrew

One thought on “A Father’s Day Story

  1. I missed father's day. I was out on the road. I hope it was nice to have all of us out of the house; I'll tell you about some stuff when I get done checking my facebook.

Comments are closed.