Challenges

Just like the target in the previous post, the new belt serves as a challenge. To measure up, to do better tomorrow. To focus completely at the task before me.


This is the way it was presented to me yesterday. I have not untied it. I will wear it for the first time on Monday. It will not make my skills any better. It will just hold my gi closed.

The purpose of training is to tighten up the slack, toughen the body, and polish the spirit.
–Morihei Ueshiba, O’Sensei and founder of Aikido

3 thoughts on “Challenges

  1. I did a lot of reflection after my shodan, but an immediate observation was that no magic happened. There was no miraculous transformation. I was still the same guy I was before, and I still had to get on the mat and train…just like before. That said, nikyu is no small step…well done.

Comments are closed.