A Promise I Hope To Never Keep

I got an email from my son overseas earlier today, asking for coffee and a chess set. At the end of it, he added this request.

Just a thought – if something does happen to me, god forbid, don’t let them do all that pomp and ceremony that they want to do. I don’t want a military funeral. Just cremate me and sprinkle my ashes in some gunpowder and bring some friends of mine to burn through the ammo.

I can do that, if it comes down to it. He and I had some fine times at the range together, and it would make as much sense as anything, which in that event would be no sense at all. So I gave him my word. I just don’t ever want to have to keep it.

No one can confidently say that he will still be living tomorrow.
–Euripides

10 thoughts on “A Promise I Hope To Never Keep

  1. To what Borepatch said, I have to add that a funeral that honors the last wishes of the deceased is the most comfort of all. I have buried many a loved one, including my son. May God bless and keep your son safe so you are never faced with keeping this promise.

  2. I told him I might not be able or willing to stop a funeral, as funerals are for the living, after all, but I would see to the main part of his request.

    If things go as they should, he (and his brothers) will have to tend to me after my time comes.

Comments are closed.