Well, Wouldn’t Your Mom Be Proud?

Really, I do think they should be able to dress like they want and not be subject to attacks. I also think I should be able to leave my house unlocked, leave my keys in the truck, and walk wherever I want without being robbed. I just don’t believe the world works like that. But here’s the news and the video from a different point of view.

Oh, if I could but live another century and see the fruition of all the work for women! There is so much yet to be done.
–Susan B. Anthony

2 thoughts on “Well, Wouldn’t Your Mom Be Proud?

  1. This is so freaking funny and sad all at the same time. (I personally plead the fifth)haha! The irony is many in fact dress to feed their own and others prurient interests. Which they would be able to do in a perfect world, without risk of assault, verbal or physical. But we live in the real world, and not some fantasy land. There are and always have been humans with an inability exercise restraint or control over their instincts; it does not matter if this is due to lack of a moral compass or conscience or personal discipline; we know they exist–and have the potential for harming us for no good reason, no matter what we are wearing.

    What alarms me personally, is the message prepubescent children, and teenagers, both boys and girls are going to take away from this. Being young and lacking judgement due to lack of life experience, they are less able to perceive and protect themselves against threats.

    4 years ago walking across the campus of the local Public High School my youngest was attending, I saw three girls whose underwear was clearly seen, as was the vast majority of skin covering their bodies. I am not a prude by any stretch– but I had to wonder what the hell are the parents of these girls teaching their daughters about their innate self worth, when in High School they are exercising their right to dress like sluts for school? Wouldn't it be nice to leave our houses unlocked, and dress like sluts or whatever else floats our boats because everybody on the planet is our friend and we can hold hands and sing Kumbaya?

    I raised my sons to live in the world that exists, not some fairy tale where we ignore the reality to cling to the fantasy of what we wish were true.

Comments are closed.