On The Way Home Today

They’ve been sitting on a siding for a couple of months. I don’t know why they were put there, or when they were last in service, but I am pretty sure I know where they are headed. The only thing left for them is to be cut up as scrap. I noticed them sometime around Thanksgiving and have been intending to take pictures. I went to cut firewood this afternoon, and on the way home, I stopped and walked up the tracks. I stood and wondered when was the last time this light was lit in operation, and who tightened down the nuts and put in the cotter keys?

It’s never safe to be nostalgic about something until you’re absolutely certain there’s no chance of its coming back.
–Bill Vaughn

2 thoughts on “On The Way Home Today

  1. I love seeing stuff like that, and I hate it, the fact that it's gone. If you ever get out to Golden CO the railroad museum is worth an afternoon of your time.

Comments are closed.