E. J. Korvette

I worked for one of the outlets for a few months in the spring of 1976. It was a lot like a K-Mart. Some of everything, and not as nice as Sears. The Wiki article has some information about the decline and bankruptcy. I didn’t know any of that at the time, just that they had a Father’s Day sale and nobody came. Everyone who had be hired in the last six months was let go.

It was June, I got a job at a summer camp as a lifeguard and met the girl that became my wife. If a lot of people had come to the sale, I would have spent my summer stocking shelves in the automotive department.

Here’s an reminder of the times as they were. At 50 seconds in, on the TV screen in the background, you can see the future.

The future is always beginning now.
–Mark Strand

One thought on “E. J. Korvette

Comments are closed.