The Fortress of Solitude

Even Superman needs a place to retreat to, to recharge and regain perspective. A friend of mine sent me pictures of his fortress today. He talks about it from time to time, but this is the first time I’ve seen pictures.

This is the view looking out from the porch. Up in the mountains, away from the worries and stresses of working two jobs, I don’t think he gets to go there near as much as he would like. I don’t know how he feels exactly when he’s up there sitting on that porch, but I know how I would feel. I would feel free.

Freedom is the oxygen of the soul.
–Moshe Dayan

2 thoughts on “The Fortress of Solitude

  1. *nods* You've hit it exactly, I'd love one of those myself,where I'd sit on the porch in a rocking chair with a rifle across my knees, just because I could. Maybe set up a gong and shoot it for fun.

  2. I heard someone say once what their dream house location was, and I fully agree: “…to be where if you hear a car coming you know they are coming to see you

Comments are closed.