Shocked II


I have a feeling this may be a depressingly regular feature here on RAoP.

Anyway, today House Majority Leader Steny Hoyer said that middle-class tax increases will eventually be necessary to address the nation’s mounting debt. Really, Mr. Hoyer? I though Pr. Obama was promising he was going to bleed the rich. I thought he was going to lift my burdens. I thought the economy now ran on unicorn farts.

Here’s an excerpt from the article:

In the short term, government spending has been necessary to stimulate the economy, Hoyer said. But in the longer term, Congress will have to rein in spending and raise taxes to tackle the debt, he added.
“Raising revenue is part of the deficit solution, too,” Hoyer said.
Senate Republican Leader Mitch McConnell said, “It’s now official. Top Democrats on Capitol Hill are starting to signal their intention to raise taxes on the middle class.”
On the spending side, Hoyer said Congress should consider raising the retirement age for full Social Security and Medicare benefits, and making those benefits progressive so that wealthier recipients get less than the needy.

So it really a two-fer three-fer, I’ll pay more taxes now, have to work longer, and get less benefits when I’m old because the government spent money it didn’t have, and doesn’t have any plan for paying it’s bills except to steal it from me (and you and your children and grandchildren).

If your family earns less than $250,000 a year, you will not see your taxes increased a single dime. I repeat: not a single dime.
–Pr. Obama, Feb. 24, 2009, in an address to a joint session of Congress.

One thought on “Shocked II

Comments are closed.