York Beach


The Nubble (Cape Nettick) lighthouse is in York, Maine. My father proposed in the parking lot that looks across at the lighthouse. So, for my parents, York Beach was one of their favorite places. Every summer of my childhood, we went to New Hampshire, and as often as I could cajole them into it, we would go to the beach. I wouldn’t have cared, but more often than Hampton Beach, we would go to York.

There are two beaches in York, separated by rocky outcroppings. Long and Short Sands. Short Sands. The water was always so cold that after 10 or 15 minutes you would be shivering uncontrollably. I would climb on the rocks and look for starfish and shells, make sand castles, and hit my dad up for quarters to go visit the Fun-O-Rama arcade.

I bring this up, because if you’re ever that far north, and you want to visit an old time beach arcade, the Fun-o-rama is still there. Just get out on Short Sands and look around.
The time you enjoy wasting is not wasted time.
–Bertrand Russell

