Time to Buy a Trijicon

ABC News is reporting that Trijicon puts Scripture references on their scopes. When questioned, Trijicon says they have been putting the references there since the company started making scopes. They use standard Bible referencing, like JN8:20, for example. As you would expect, there are people that think this is wrong, bad, un-American, and probably some sort of crime.

“It’s wrong, it violates the Constitution, it violates a number of federal laws,” said Michael Weinstein of the Military Religious Freedom Foundation, an advocacy group that seeks to preserve the separation of church and state in the military…”It allows the Mujahedeen, the Taliban, al Qaeda and the insurrectionists and jihadists to claim they’re being shot by Jesus rifles,” he said, “The coded biblical inscriptions play into the hands of “those who are calling this a Crusade.”

He’s right about one thing, it plays right into my hands. I like it. If it upsets, puts off, and ruins the morale of the enemy, we should be doing it. If it strengthens, emboldens, or gives comfort to our troops, we should be doing it.

Is it a crime? Trijicon makes a product. If I want to buy it, I give them money. If I don’t want to buy it I don’t. If, after I buy it, I want to file off and repaint the scope, that’s my business, too. The U.S. Government bought more than 100 million dollars of these scopes in 2008. The notation is right on the side of each scope. It’s not like they hid it. I’d be really curious how quoting the Bible is a crime.

On a practical note, I like Trijicons ACOGs and would have one if it didn’t cost more than the rifle I was going to mount it on. The prices seem to run from one to two thousand dollars for the models on their website. Still, if you have a loved one going in harm’s way, and you want to get them a great going away present, this is something to think about. Think of it like a St. Christopher’s medallion with a useful purpose.
Semper Fi, Trijicon. If you’re making one for me, I’d like one inscribed with the following.

And now shall mine head be lifted up above mine enemies round about me: therefore will I offer in his tabernacle sacrifices of joy; I will sing, yea, I will sing praises unto the LORD.
–Psalm 27:6

5 thoughts on “Time to Buy a Trijicon

  1. “Trijicon makes a product. If I want to buy it, I give them money. If I don't want to buy it I don't. If, after I buy it, I want to file off and repaint the scope, that's my business, too.”

    I've been making this same point everywhere I see this story. I'd love to have an ACOG on my M&P15, but I can't afford one. I'm an atheist, but you won't see me getting all butt hurt over this. And even though I could, I doubt I'd take a file to it.

  2. Amen, ASM- it isn't as though the jihadists are actually seeing the inscriptions- or that the inscriptions are actually on the scopes… just the reference is.
    Make my reference PS.25.1-2: “To Thee, O Lord, I lift up my soul, Oh, my God, in Thee I trust, do not let me be ashamed; do not let my enemies triumph over me.”

  3. The US has tried to bend over backwards framing this war as a war against terrorism…and not against Muslims.
    The terrorist would like nothing better than to frame Afghanistan as an Christian Crusade to defeat Islam.

    Trijicon plays right into the hands of the Jihadist.

    If you are a Jihadist recruiting suicide bombers and wanted to make the point that this is a Christian vs Muslim war and that all Muslims have an obligation to defend Islam against the Crusaders, all you have to do is point to religious verses on American manufactured gun sites as proof that these aren't soldiers hunting terrorists…but Crusaders bent on destroying Islam.

    Absolutely irresponsible.

    A soldier who contacted MRFF said in his email: “Everyone is worried that if they were captured in combat that the enemy would use the Bible quotes against them in captivity or some other form of propaganda.”

  4. I’ll agree with Hamster on one point: The US has indeed tried to frame this as a war against terror rather than against Islam.

    What fools we’ve been!

    The Allah worshippers KNOW who they’re at war with. And they’ve got no qualms about saying so either!

    Oh God spare us from idiots who believe that our enemies will “chill out” if we just convince them that we’re nice people! And further spare us from all the God-haters out there that will stop at nothing to scrub every last trace of Christianity from America’s public forum.

    Don’t believe in God? Cool. That’s your right. But I got news for you. The 1st Amendment grants freedom OF religion, not freedom FROM religion!

    I will make it my business to buy a Trijicon scope this week, if I have to do without meals to do so.

    And all Allah-worshippers can rot in hell!

Comments are closed.