Christmas Present


There are lots of cookie recipes in this book. The one at the top of page 208 is only one that has the ingredient list doubled in my mother’s handwriting along side the original amounts. It’s a simple recipe for sugar cookies. My grandmother made them, and my
mother. She taught me, and I have
made them every year but one since
I was old enough to use the stove.
(as always, click to biggify)

Last night my oldest son and I got out the trays and the colored sugar and set to work. When the dough is cold and hard it rolls out easily on a floured board. A 400 degree oven and a close eye on the time yields trays of results and an
aroma that has meant Christmas time
to us for three generations.

Whatever traditions bring meaning to your holiday, my hope for all of you is that you get to celebrate them with those you love. If any of you want
to try one of mine, here is …

ETHEL’S SUGAR COOKIES

1 1/2 c. butter
2 c. sugar
4 eggs
1 tsp. vanilla
5 c. all-purpose flour
2 tsp. baking powder
2 tsp. salt

Cream butter and sugar together. Add eggs and vanilla; mix thoroughly. Stir flour, salt, and baking soda together; blend with wet ingredients.

Chill at least 1 hour. Roll dough 1/8 inch thick on lightly floured board. Cut into desired shapes. Place on ungreased baking sheet. Sprinkle with sugar. Bake 6-8 minutes at 400 degrees or until cookies are a delicate golden color. Makes about 4 dozen large cookies. Note: If using self-rising flour omit baking powder. (quantities doubled)
–Betty Crocker Cookbook, Second Edition, 1956, Page 208

2 thoughts on “Christmas Present

Comments are closed.