Rosemary Kennedy

I try to pick my own posts. I was going to write one about the Presidential Medal of Freedom being dragged thought the mud of Chappaquiddick Inlet before being presented to Edward Kennedy. But I stopped by Borepatch’s place and I am still sitting here stunned. I’m sorry Borepatch, I either post this or I just take down the site. I had never heard this story.

Does this woman look retarded?

This is Rosemary Kennedy before she had her brain mutilated at the age of 23 because her father ordered it done. She was not retarded, not slow, not anything but a little too independent to suit her father. She wasn’t retarded until she was lobotomized.

Here’s the story in it’s entirety, with a tip of the hat to FatBoy for the effort. Ever hear that story? No, and you won’t in the mainstream press. As far as I’m concerned, that makes them complicit in the crime and cover-up.

Eunice Kennedy Shriver’s obituary in the New York Times would lead you to think Rosemary had always been mildly retarded. But Rosemary kept a diary, she traveled, she went to school, and then she had her brain destroyed and spent the rest of her life staring at the walls in an institution.

When they put her on the table and ran the rods into her brain, the doctor had her recite the Lord’s Prayer. When her words were reduced to incoherent mumbling, he decided there was enough damage and stopped.

The belief in a supernatural source of evil is not necessary, men alone are quite capable of every wickedness.
–Joseph Conrad

2 thoughts on “Rosemary Kennedy

  1. ASM, please don't apologize – I ran across this somewhere else, too. I added my bit, and you've added yours, too.

    The whole thing is whispered about here in New England, but reading her diary, and then the story about the operation caused a RCOB moment like none I can recall.

    “Evil” is the only word that applies, and is too, too weak.

  2. The more I have read about the Kennedy's, the more I am shocked that anyone can hold them up as a model for anything except what not to do.

    -Jon

Comments are closed.