The First Time

There’s a first time for everything. The first time you meet someone, the first time you shoot a gun, the first time…well, you get the idea.

This evening, we had dinner with Borepatch and his family. Afterwards, the discussion came around to reloading, one thing led to another, and then this happened.

Let’s call it “Borepatch Makes a Cartridge”. It was a .45ACP cartridge, made on a Lee press that was already configured and adjusted. The opportunity to really learn this art will have to come another time. The steps from a pile of empty range brass to new ammo are many, and at several places, mistakes are possible. Still, perhaps the hook was set. His ear to ear grin would suggest that.

Do not be too timid and squeamish about your actions. All life is an experience.
–Ralph Waldo Emerson

5 thoughts on “The First Time

  1. I am just getting into reloading and am fortunate to have several friends who reload. I found a single stage RCBS starter kit onto for about $280. That is one is nice because it’ll teach you the process and can do rifle rounds later on where as the automatic presses, unless you spend ALOT of money.

    I’m not doing it so much because of saving cost, but right now I have a hard time getting .45 ACP and my 1911 is hungry. 😉 With ammo being as short as it is, I want to make my own supply. I plan on reloading .45 ACP, 9mm, and maybe 7.62x54r if my supply of surplus military ammo runs dry.

    Buy the Hordandy manual. That is the one my friend Chris uses and it’s really nice.

    -Jon
    < HREF="http://www.cmdrfenix.org/" REL="nofollow">cmdrfenix.org<>

  2. Cmdr,

    If you look in that picture again, on the right is an RCBS single stage. Until very recently, it was my only press, and I would do batch processing, prepping a coffee can full at a time. Decapping and sizing in one, flared in another, for each caliber. That is why there are so many coffee cans on the bench, it’s all the calibers, in all the steps. The only thing the Lee press is set up for is .45ACP, the caliber I shoot the most.

  3. Ahhhh, I didn’t see it in the upper right. Looks like a very nice setup!

    -Jon
    < HREF="http://www.cmdrfenix.org/" REL="nofollow">cmdrfenix.org<>

Comments are closed.