Converting Money to Noise

Shooting has become a more expensive hobby in the last couple of years. Ammo prices have doubled. A box of 100 .45ACP from Ammoman is almost $40.00. In some cases, like .223, the price has tripled.
So I started reloading last year. Then a friend of mine convinced me to start bullet casting. I started casting .45 caliber bullets and reloading my own ammo for several different calibers. With cast bullets and reused brass, my cost per 100 is under $5.00. Even with purchased jacketed bullets, it’s about $15.00 per 100. I get to shoot more.
This was the first warm weekend of the year here in North Carolina, and a lot of members were at the club. I was running some test loads and here was the result. This is 3 magazines, 24 rounds, using bullets from Montana Gold and Titegroup powder. I was using a Para-Ordnance 1911 at 50 feet. I think I’m finally getting this reloading figured out. Reliable, accurate, and affordable. Oh yeah, in keeping with the cheapness theme, paper plates make great targets. I just put a target paster in the middle to give me something to aim at.

I shoot an arrow into the air, where it lands I do not care: I get my arrows wholesale!
–Curly Howard of the Three Stooges

One thought on “Converting Money to Noise

Comments are closed.