Missing Kim DuToit

The Governor of Illinois has been arrested after (allegedly) being taped trying to sell the vacant Senate seat of Senator and President-Elect B.H. Obama. Governor Blagojevich has been accused of selling all sorts of things.

He, of course, will have his day in court. If convicted, he will join three other Illinois Governors, Otto Kerner, Dan Walker, and George Ryan, that have served jail time. Just for fun I googled list of Illinois officials convicted of corruption and found out that 79 officials have been convicted since 1972. MSNBC opines that Illinois has long legacy of public corruption.

Sen. Obama had this to say today, “I had no contact with the governor or his office and so we were not, I was not aware of what was happening.”

However, on Fox News Chicago, back on November 23rd, Sen. Obama’s senior advisor, David Axelrod had this to say, “I know he’s talked to the governor and there are a whole range of names many of which have surfaced, and I think he has a fondness for a lot of them.”

Update: This video has gone down the memory hole, so there is no need to click on it. The quotes I have here capture the important section.

Now Mr. Axelrod has this to say, “I was mistaken when I told an interviewer last month that the President-elect has spoken directly to Governor Blagojevich about the Senate vacancy. They did not then or at any time discuss the subject.”

Sen. Obama came out of Chicago politics, out of what I heard called “If not the most corrupt State political system, then one that is in the running.” This is Sen. Kennedy, Gov. Blagojevich, and Sen. Obama enjoying an evening out together.


This is the Hope’n’Change we have to look forward to. No real surprise, I suppose, but I would have liked to read Kim’s thoughts about the whole mess. There will be plenty more before this is over. It’s been played this way around Chicago for a long time, and the Governor isn’t the only one. I need to work on my snark.

“I reject the cynical view that politics is a dirty business.”
–President Richard Nixon

One thought on “Missing Kim DuToit

Comments are closed.