Marine


He joins the line of men that have stood between America and those who wish her harm. I will be there to see him march on Friday, and then he will be home on leave for 10 days. He had liberty today and he called home. Among other things, he said it “was hard as fuck.” I remember, and he’s right. It needs to be. The Marines need it to be hard, to make men that can answer the call. To hold the lines at the Chosin, to get off the beach at Tarawa, to take Belleau Wood, and to do what will need to be done, this year and next, as we fight the jihadists.

Because this war is hard as fuck too, and it’s far from over. And now my son is a Marine.

I have only two men out of my company and 20 out of some other company. We need support, but it is almost suicide to try to get it here as we are swept by machine gun fire and a constant barrage is on us. I have no one on my left and only a few on my right. I will hold.
1stLt. Clifton B. Cates, USMC in Belleau Wood, 19 July 1918

2 thoughts on “Marine

  1. Congratulations to your son. This sure is something.When I think that the country is going to hell in a hand basket, I look at men like him and am less pessimistic.

  2. And on the 8th day, God made the United States Marine Corps!Semper Fidelis to you and yours, and God bless him and his fellow Marines and keep them safe!

Comments are closed.