What is your plan…?


I had something else written to put here today, but today’s national news takes priority. Last time I asked what your plan was at the mall. Today, it saddens me to ask, what’s your plan at church?

Knoxville News Sentinel article on the church shooting

It looks like these guys improvised, but considering the situation, did pretty well. Would a few people exercising their 2nd Amendment rights have prevented the loss of life and injury that did occur? It appears they waited for the madman to reload and then jumped him. If they had a church plan, and a percentage of their congregation acting as sheepdogs for the flock, would the madman have even been able to uncase his weapon?

Those who are incapable of committing great crimes do not readily suspect them in others.
Francois De La Rochefoucauld

____________________________________________________________________________
Update

A gang related riot involving 200-300 people closed the Triangle Town Center mall in Raleigh, N.C. Saturday evening. Several arrests, one stabbing, one injured police officer. It took city, county, and state police an hour to secure the situation. Most of the gang members escaped, only 7 people were arrested.

Seven detained after mall brawl

That plan I had for the mall? I think it needs to be revisited.

One thought on “What is your plan…?

  1. I am my church’s “volunteer security”.Virginia law is a bit vague regarding carry in churches:<>§ 18.2-283. Carrying dangerous weapon to place of religious worship.If any person carry any gun, pistol, bowie knife, dagger or other dangerous weapon, <>without good and sufficient reason<>, to a place of worship while a meeting for religious purposes is being held at such place he shall be guilty of a Class 4 misdemeanor.<>[emphasis added]What exactly IS “good and sufficient reason?”Quite some time ago, I approached my pastor. He already knew I am a shooter and am retired military, but I also told him that I have a Concealed Handgun Permit and volunteered to act as our volunteer security guard.He agreed enthusiastically and gave me express permission to be armed. We both agree that my role as “volunteer security” constitutes a “good and sufficient” reason. Every state’s laws are different, but if there is any wiggle room, ask your pastor about it. It worst, you’ll find out that they are anti self-defense…which, for me, would mean I’d be looking for another church Poste Haste…and you may be granted special dispensation to be armed in order to act as a volunteer security guard.In light of the recent incidents in Colorado and, more recently, Tennessee, church administrators and pastors may be more receptive to such ideas.

Comments are closed.